I Can Cook!

There are so many people who love to cook and I am definitely one of them. I’ve always considered cooking as an art, rather than looking at it as an everyday chore. The satisfaction that fills your heart when your recipe turns out good is the same as a flower blooming in the plant you grow. It’s the process that is important.

It all started back in the day when I used to see my sister making sugar candies and baking cookies. So I decided to make a dessert myself. I cooked grated carrots with milk, sugar and coconut and brought it to the consistency of a pudding. Everyone in the family was excited to try it out. I served them the so-called-dessert and went to my room with a bowl for myself. One spoonful, and I was like, ‘….’. Well, I didn’t know what to think! I have to say it tasted sweet but funny! A few more spoonfuls and I realised, ‘Okay, this is not edible!’. I came out of my room only to save my family from trying so hard to finish their bowl. My recipe was a disaster but I couldn’t help laughing!

I am not good with sweets but I didn’t want to stop trying. Why don’t I try to cook together with my sister? The whole process itself was fascinating for both of us and one fine day we decided to try cooking new recipes. And boy, did we have lots of fun! Here is our first cooking experience together.

After a long discussion we decided to cook something new and different. Instead of making a stuff for the bread sandwich, we decided to make the bread as the stuffing. We chopped bread into pieces, stir-fried with tomatoes and soy sauce. Then we made egg wraps with the stir-fried bread as the stuffing. Surprisingly, it tasted good. That evening had a happy ending.

From there on, we did lots of cooking. And of course, we some times had our failure recipes too. But at the end of the day, all the fun that we had and the beautiful memories that we made were the only things that mattered.

Daily prompt: Edible

Author: Yuvi's Buzz

I'm a simple girl who is in love with writing. Music is my lifeline, I cannot survive without songs. I love to read novels and stories especially in the fantasy genre. And a big fan of Marvel and DC movies.

11 thoughts on “I Can Cook!”

  1. Some of my favorite cooking memories are because of total failures! And when you cook with somebody else it’s even more hilarious when ya mess up…like the focaccia I made last week which ended up resembling a soufflé.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

